About Us

Community Support Services of Niagara is a volunteer based not-for-profit agency providing comprehensive client-driven community support services to help seniors and adults with disabilities live independently in their own homes. CSSN staff feel that their daily work is meaningful, impacts those in the community and allows our clients to live their lives to the fullest.

Meals on Wheels began in the Niagara Region in Welland in 1967. Grimsby, Beamsville and West Lincoln began delivery of hot meals in 1971, 1972 and 1990 respectively. Over the next eight years six additional services were added to the program in Welland and in 1998 Grimsby, Beamsville and West Lincoln Meals on Wheels formed West Niagara Community Support Services, offering five services. In 2000 Welland Meals on Wheels/Community Support Services and the West Niagara agencies joined together to form Community Support Services of Niagara (CSSN) becoming a region wide multi-service agency.


We are a community partner that provides support services for seniors and adults with disabilities by promoting independence, dignity and inclusion.


A society where seniors and adults with disabilities are supported so they achieve their fullest potential in all aspects of life.


  • We believe: in building strategic partnerships to promote seamless community supports so that seniors and adults with disabilities can live independently, with dignity in their own homes.
  • We believe: that every individual should be treated equitably, with empathy, with integrity and with respect.
  • We recognize: the contributions of our staff and volunteers and know that by working together we can best serve the residents of Niagara.
  • We are accountable: for the provision of quality service focused on individual client need and the effective and efficient use of our resources.
    Services available in French. Services disponibles en français.


Shannon McHugh
Matt Cuthbert
Board Member
Jennifer Flus
Board Member
Maria Bau-Coote
Board Member
Gay Douglas
Board Member
Denise Barron
Board Member
Jennifer Pennell-Aije
Board Member
Carolyn Askeland
Executive Director